I Just Called to Say I Love You

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Your Number One.”

What was the #1 song when you were born? Write about how the song relates (or not!) to your personality.

It’s ‘I just called to say I love you’ by Stevie Wonder, or Steven Wonder, as he must have been originally. I don’t like that song at all. It’s miserable. I get frustrated even trying to sing that title line, with the dreary pace of it. You could get up and get a glass of juice in the dead air between ‘I just called’ and ‘To say’, then go ahead and make a sandwich and reply to a few emails before ‘I Love you’ finally arrives. You need the patience of a saint. I didn’t always hate it though. It was in the air when I was very young. In fact I was completely fascinated by it, this person calling to say ‘I love you’. It pulled back the curtain on a netherworld of adult autonomy and telephone use and making weird meaningful declarations to other people. And it wasn’t just some shit sentimental song, as I recognise it to be now, no- it was definitive; that’s what life was like out there mood-wise, I understood. Until the next song came along presumably.

27 thoughts on “I Just Called to Say I Love You

  1. Hey hon, I totally got you mixed up with someone else! I’m sooo sorry! Blame it on my depression? Or the fact that I’m a weirdo. I just went over your blog and I’m sorry if I said you were gloomy. I will tape my mouth shut!

  2. Reminds me of first semester of college, when I had just gotten into Stevie after the hit “Do I Do” 2 years earlier, and had just gotten all of the albums from ’72 and up, and was waiting for new music from him. I was standing in the dining hall, “Higher Ground” played on the radio, and then this new song came on after it!
    The song was OK, but it was his first venture into the new world of digital synths, and I think the sound was refined a lot in the next album after that (but not its main hit, Part Time Lover, which was just too commercial sounding, Like I Just Called).

    • It’s the last word in middle of the road and commercial, that song! But I am aware he was kinda good otherwise, so I’ll check out the subsequent album and some other stuff, like you say. Cheers!

  3. I didn’t understand at first that Recoveratti was the name of her blog. Braindead today…sorry, I keep very busy these days and I’m bad about replying to comments right away. Sometimes it takes me up to a week. I’m happy to have found her blog through yours. Both of you are great writers.

      • Oh, thank you! I really appreciate that. 🙂 I’ll keep ’em coming but between now and the holidays I won’t be on here as much. I’ll be taking a big test in December so right now it’s study city. There’s this magic to your writing that makes it easy to get drawn in. I’ll be back for more.

  4. HAAAA! Another winner!
    But gosh, this post makes me feel ancient. I remember that song playing and me getting all “Oh, go f*ck off!!!” when I heard it, bec I was in the middle of a break-up that felt like when you bite down into meringue (ewwww, I try not to) and it all just collapses to nothing. That song was no help at all.

    What you’re saying about it is fascinating, though. I can see how it might be a kid’s window into another world, one of adult autonomy and opportunity.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

