Not an Adult

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Isn’t Your Face Red.”

When was the last time you were embarrassed? How do you react to embarrassment?

I’m embarrassed by myself a lot. It’s something I’d like to get under control. It’s often when I’m trying to avoid potential embarrassment that I really embarrass myself. For instance refusing to turn and face my friend head-on in the open plan showers after squash, week after week, unmentioned by both of us, for a whole year in 2010. I’d either get undressed quickly and duck round a merciful corner in the shower room before anyone else could get to that one, or shower with my arse to the room then hurry back to my towel. I’m fine, Joe Average, in that department- if what I read on the internet and what I’ve been told is correct. But Goddamn if I’m not a grower at times. I suppose that was pathetic though. I failed that test of my mettle that men, but not women for some reason, have to deal with in terms of how changing rooms are laid out. Failed it big time. Not an adult, for all to see. That friend is back visiting just now and he’s not so ready with the text messages any more, despite us being the closest of friends back in the day. The memory of that changing-room debacle has stopped me in my tracks several times today, where all I can do is just gasp ‘Oh God’.

30 thoughts on “Not an Adult

    • Well, writing it was purely for my own benefit, but you’re welcome! I meant in terms of showers and stuff- women seem to be granted a wee bit more privacy as far as I’ve seen. I like your posts, very thoughtful. Cool life too!

  1. One of the reasons I feared high school was because of gym and showers! Thankfully, my parents agreed to let me do virtual school – no virtual showers for me, thank you! Cute post! :p

  2. I relate to this. Not the men’s shower room part, but I quite often suddenly stop what I’m doing and remember something embarrassing I did several years ago and take a few minutes to hate myself. Good post 🙂

  3. Oh, my gosh…you’re not alone in this! Not that that helps much. There are a lot of people who don’t have the courage to admit it, that’s all.
    As for this: “It’s often when I’m trying to avoid potential embarrassment that I really embarrass myself.” Yes, it figures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

